All the things I cannot eat

June 9

As I’ve mentioned in a previous blog post, I have a day job. And as part of that day, I like to head outside and find something delectable to bring back to my office for lunch. I admit it, I don’t often pack my lunch (a whole other challenge which we can discuss another day), because I’m too lazy to make it at night, too pressured to make it in the morning, and anyway my messenger bag is too heavy as it is.

Today, thinking it would be easier, not to mention cheaper, I headed over to the Star supermarket a few blocks from my work to see what I could score for lunch. They have a prepared food department… and guess what? Every single thing is dressed in some kind of plastic. After wandering forlornly for a while (that seems to be a common occurrence this month), I headed to the deli counter. Yes, they make sandwiches! Yes, they can wrap them in paper! Thank goodness, because I was starting to feel faint with hunger.

So I managed to bag (no, not really. No bag. Just a figure of speech) a pretty decent turkey wrap, plastic-free. Once again with the caveat that I have no idea what’s coating the paper it’s wrapped in. At some point I’m going to have to research that.

I also found a semi-solution to my cherry withdrawal symptoms: just because they put them in those plastic produce bags doesn’t mean we have to buy the amount they’ve parceled out. What if I want a single serving? So I simply dipped into one of those bags, removed the number of cherries I wanted for my lunch  (here’s the rationalization: someone is still going to buy that bag, so I haven’t added to the waste), and put them in my own reusable produce bag.

I am happily enjoying my cherries as I write this. Took me over a week to think that up, but I’m smiling now. Small victories!

Tomorrow I am going to check out the local eateries and see what’s up with them. I have a bad feeling, but time will tell.

Leave a Reply

